Fine Arts

Dr. Desimini with student at easel in art studioWelcome to Fine Art at Mat-Su College. Our goal is to stimulate students' intellectual pursuits and develop creative and technical skills through the arts. Small studio classes allow our professional, artist-instructors to work closely with students to advance their artistic abilities and deepen their aesthetic appreciation. 

The Gallery, located on the second floor of the Fred and Sarah Machetanz building, hosts regular exhibits of student work and is open to the public. Our Fine Art department sponsors an annual Art Portfolio Contest, open to highschool seniors, to provide scholarships to students who attend MSC.

Graduates from MSC Fine Art have gone on to successful careers as full-time artists, with their work hanging in galleries around Alaska and the nation.

  • charcoal of silverware on napkin
  • pastel of ballet dancer's feet and shoes on point
  • master's copy of Monet "At the Beach"
  • master's copy of Degas
  • pastel of mountain landscape
  • master's copy of Monet
  • charcoal of sunglasses on table
  • pastel master's copy of Degas' Dancers
  • painting of owl on fencepost
  • charcoal master's copy of Escher
  • pastel of flowers in vase
  • pen and ink drawing of person bound upside down
  • charcoal study of human arm and leg
  • pastel of woman-lizard standing on two feet
  • charcoal of mountain landscape

FULL-TIME FACULTY

Dr. Felicia Desimini
Assist Professor of Art
FSM 210 - Office Hours: Tuesday & Wednesday 12 - 1 pm.
Phone: (907) 745-9755
Email: fdesimini@alaska.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email Address
Aube, Dr. Meggie mgaube@alaska.edu
DeLoose, Steven smdeloose@alaska.edu
Frei, Jim rjfrei@alaska.edu
Isley, Jason jgisley@alaska.edu
Laucius, Barbara  bjlaucius@alaska.edu
Stamoolis, Naomi  nstamool@alaska.edu
Urroz, Karen  keurroz@alaska.edu