Skip to Content Skip to Navigation

Mat-Su College, Alaska | English and Humanities

  • COURSE SCHEDULES
  • Room Scheduling
  • Untitled-12
  • Academic Deadlines
  • Student Clubs Calendar
  • Got News or an Event?
  • Classes in this Department include:

    • American Sign Language (ASL)
    • Communication (COMM)
    • Creative Writing & Literary Arts (CWLA)
    • English (ENGL)
    • English-as-a-Second Language (ESL)
    • Foreign Languages (FREN, JPN, RUSS, SPAN)
    • Guidance (GUID)
    • Journalism (JPC)
    • Preparatory English (PRPE)

    Department Faculty

    Full Time Faculty

    Room: JKB 135
    Phone: 907-745-9786
    Denison, Dr. Sheri Assist Professor of English
    sdenison@matsu.alaska.edu
    Education:

    Ph.D., Indiana Univ. of Pennsylvania, 2009
    M.A., Univ. of Alaska Anchorage, 1997,
    B.A., Univ. of Alaska Anchorage, 1993

    Departments:

    • English and Humanities

    Spring Hours:

    Mon-Thurs: 1:00-2:15p

    Room: JKB 136
    Phone: 907-745-9780
    Fox, Dr. Deborah Assoc Professor of English
    Faculty Coordinator
    dfox@matsu.alaska.edu
    Education:

    Ph.D., Macquarie University, Sydney, Australia, 2004
    M.A., University of Arkansas at Little Rock, 1993
    B.A., Utah State University, Logan, Utah, 1985
    A.A., University of Maryland, Munich, Germany 1982

    Departments:

    • English and Humanities

    Spring Hours:

    Mon/Wed: 1:00-2:00p and Tues/Thur: 11:00a-12:00p
    and by appointment

    Room: JKB 137
    Phone: 907-745-9753
    O'Leary, Dr. Joan Assoc Professor of English
    joleary@matsu.alaska.edu
    Education:

    Ph.D., Univ. of Washington, 1991
    M.A., Univ. of Alaska Anchorage, 1987
    B.A., Univ. of Alaska Anchorage, 1985

    Departments:

    • English and Humanities

    Spring Hours:

    Mon-Thur: 11:00a-12:00p

    Room: JKB 114A
    Phone: 907-745-9734
    Peck, Dr. Galina Assoc Professor of College Prep & Devlp Studies
    gpeck@matsu.alaska.edu
    Education:

    Ph.D. in Philological Sciences, evaluated by UNESCO, 1999, Ph.D. in Foreign Languages Teacher Ed., Moscow, Russia, 1983, Certification as Assist. Professor of English, Moscow, Russia, 1982, Bachelor and Master Degree in Foreign Languages Teacher, Education, Moscow State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages, Moscow, Russia, 1975

    Departments:

    • English and Humanities

    Spring Hours:

    Mon-Thurs: 1:00-2:00p
    Fri: off campus

    Room: SNOD 130
    Phone: 907-745-9728
    Praetorius, Dr. Pete Assoc Professor of Communication
    ppraetorius@matsu.alaska.edu
    Education:

    Ph.D., Michigan Technological Univ., 2000
    M.A., Clemson Univ., 1996
    B.A., Whittier College, 1984

    Departments:

    • English and Humanities

    Spring Hours:

    On sabatical

    Room: JKB 134
    Phone: 907-746-9344
    Sagal, Mary Assist Professor of College Prep & Devlp Studies
    msagal@matsu.alaska.edu
    Education:

    M.F.A., Eastern Washington Univ., 2001
    M.S., University of Wisconsin, 1994
    B.S., University of Wisconsin, 1986

    Departments:

    • English and Humanities

    Spring Hours:

    Mon: 9:00a-12:00p
    Sat: 1:00-2:00p

    Adjunct Faculty

    Name Email Address
    Baarts, Jason jibaarts@uaa.alaska.edu
    Bell, Jane jebell@uaa.alaska.edu
    Birdsall, Sarah sjbirdsall@uaa.alaska.edu
    Bodalay, Kathleen kmbodolay@uaa.alaska.edu
    Burgess, RaDeena rburges1@uaa.alaska.edu
    Deitchley, Chad cgdeitchley@matsu.alaska.edu
    Kendrick, Christine clkendrick@uaa.alaska.edu
    Klein, Mylinda maklein@uaa.alaska.edu
    Montgomery, Carol clmontgomery@uaa.alaska.edu
    Ninoyu, Shunji sninoyu@uaa.alaska.edu
    Ponomareva-Smith, Yulia yvponomareva@uaa.alaska.edu
    Powers, Andrea aspowers@uaa.alaska.edu
    Schmidt, Sandra svschmidt@uaa.alaska.edu
    Taner, Rosa rltaner@uaa.alaska.edu
    Share/Bookmark