English and Humanities

classroom full of students practicing American sign language

Classes in this Department include:

American Sign Language (ASL)
Communication (COMM)
English (ENGL)
English-as-a-Second Language (ESL)
Foreign Languages (FREN, JPN, RUSS, SPAN)
Preparatory English (PRPE)
Women's Studies

Full-time Faculty

Sheri Denison
Associate Professor of English
JKB 135
Phone: (907-745-9786
Email: sadenison@alaska.edu

Deborah Fox
Professor of English
JKB 136 - Office Hours: M 2:30-3:30, TR    9:00-10:00, W 8:00-9:00
Phone: (907) 745-9780
Email: dhfox@alaska.edu

Dr. Annette Hornung
Assistant Professor of English
JKB 122C - Office Hours: Mon-Thr, 1-2 p.m.
Phone: 907-745-9756
Email: ahornung@alaska.edu

Dr. Pete Praetorius
Associate Professor of Communication
SNOD 130 - Office Hours: T 3:00-4:00, W 12:00-1:00 & 5:00-7:00, R 12:00-1:00 & 5:00-7:00, and by appointment.
Phone: (907)745-9728
Email: pwpraetorius@alaska.edu

Mary Sagal
Assistant Professor of English
JKB 134 - Tues/Thurs 10:30A-Noon and Sat from 12:30-2:00P
Phone: (907) 746-9344
Email: mrsagal@alaska.edu

Adjunct Faculty

Name Email Address
Bell, Jane jebell@alaska.edu
Birdsall, Sarah sjbirdsall@uaa.alaska.edu
Burgess, RaDeena rburges1@alaska.edu
Easter, Margot maeaster@alaska.edu
Elliott, KC kcelliott2@alaska.edu
Gette, Judy jagette@alaska.edu
Jones, Claudia cjones123@alaska.edu
Kendrick, Christine clkendrick@alaska.edu
Klein, Mylinda maklein@alaska.edu
Ninoyu, Shunji sninoyu@alaska.edu
Owens, Joy  jrgrabiner@alaska.edu
Peck, Galina gapeck@alaska.edu
Schmidt, Sandra  svschmidt@alaska.edu
Smith, Yuliana  yvponomareva@alaska.edu
Verplancke, Paula pverplancke@alaska.edu