Alvin S. Okeson Library - Borrowing Privileges
- Students: Your Wolfcard is your library card
- You don't have to be a student to use the library
- You must have your library card with you to check out material
- Our library cards can be used at any library that is a member of the Alaska Library Catalog
Library cards issued by any location within the University of Alaska Anchorage system, Mat-Su Library Network, Anchorage Public Library, University of Alaska Southeast, Juneau Public Library, Valdez Consortium Library, or Alaska State Library can be used to check out material from the Alvin S. Okeson Library. A library card issued here will work at any of those locations as well. Library cards are available to members of the public who are over the age of 16 and have a valid form of picture identification. Valid forms of identification include a driver's license, passport, military ID, or state-issued identification card.
Please report lost or stolen cards immediately, since you are responsible for anything that is checked out on your card.
If you lose your card, the first replacement costs $1.00. After that, replacement cards are $5.00.
Due dates are determined by the circulation policies used at the item's owning library. Be sure to check your date due slips when picking up holds from other libraries because the dates when the same types of items are due may not be the same.
|Items owned by the Alvin S. Okeson Library have the following circulation periods:|
|Audio Books - 28 days||Books - 28 days||CDs - 7 days||ILL - Varies|
|Magazines - 7 days||Reference - 0 days||Reserves - Varies||Telecourse - 3 days|
|Videos - 7 days||Video Sets - 14 Days|
Items owned by another Alaska Library Catalog library that are checked out at the Alvin S. Okeson Library will be charged late fees according to the owning library's fine schedule. There are significant differences between the grace periods and rates charged at the various ALC libraries. You can, however, pay those overdue fees here.
Items owned by the Alvin S. Okeson Library that are turned in after their due date will be charged a fee according to the following schedule:
|Item Type||Daily charge||Maximum Fine|
|Books, CDs, and Videos||None||None|
|Interlibrary Loans||$5.00/week Minimum||None|
All fines are per item. There is no maximum total fine.
Borrowing privileges are suspended when fines exceed $10.00.
Material returned in damaged condition will be evaluated to determine whether the item is still in usable condition. A fine will then be assessed based on the replacement cost of the book and the level of damage that the item has sustained.
The level of the fine assessed for damage to material owned by other libraries will be determined by the owning library. We cannot accept payment for fines assessed for damage to material owned by other Alaska Library Catalog members. Please contact the owning library. In many cases, fees assessed for damage can be paid by logging into your library account.
Any item more than 28 days overdue is considered lost. The patron will be billed for the replacement cost of that item plus a $5.00 processing fee. If an exact match cannot be located, the Library Director will determine a suitable replacement title. The minimum replacement cost is $5.00.
If an item is returned after it has been declared lost and the replacement cost has not yet been paid, only the processing fee will be charged. Unfortunately, University regulations prevent us from issuing refunds, so we cannot give your money back if you find the item after paying for it.
The replacement cost for material owned by other libraries is determined by the owning library. We cannot accept payment for lost material owned by other Alaska Library Catalog members. Please contact the owning library. In many cases, lost fees can be paid by logging into your library account.